Caribbean Cup Dart Tournament Celebrating 20th Anniversary in Tampa

Caribbean Cup Dart Tournament Celebrating 20th Anniversary in Tampa

TAMPA, FL – The Florida Dart Association, along with the Caribbean Darts Organization, will host the 20th Caribbean Cup Tournament July 15-20, 2014 at the Mainsail Conference Center in Tampa.  The international event will bring teams from Caribbean countries, in addition to Florida, to compete for the renowned Caribbean Cup.

The bi-annual Caribbean Cup is an entertaining and diverse event made up of a wide cross-section of cultures throughout the Caribbean region and Florida.  It has been rightly labeled as the best Darts tournament in the World by those who travel internationally playing darts.  The top 13 players, eight men and five women, from each country engage in six days of intense competition playing in both singles and group events.

The teams from Bahamas, Belize, Bermuda, Barbados, Brazil, Cayman Islands, Guyana, Jamaica, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos, and Florida will also experience the local Tampa culture by visiting local museums and attractions.

Team Florida, the defending champion, includes both nationally and internationally ranked players.  The men, Joe Cebrynski, Mark Meares, Richie Dantinne, Sheldon Lionel, Rich Dantinne, Jr., and Jeff Bussman are all nationally ranked.  Gary Mawson and Norman Madhoo are internationally known and have played in several countries including the premier ranked tournaments in England.  The women, Paula Murphy, Kelli Meares, Tyler Meares, Laurie Hendershot, and Lorraine Symon are also nationally ranked and part of the elite top ladies players in Florida.

Traditionally the tournament opens with a ceremony featuring local representatives, team members, and sponsors.  Following the celebration, a rigorous schedule consisting of 7-8 hours of playing, in accordance with professional standards on dress code, conduct, and the highest level of sportsmanship commences.  The semi-finals and finals events for the singles, doubles, and triples events take place on the last day of the play.  A closing ceremony and festive gala closes the tournament.        

For the 20th Anniversary, a blind draw competition open to the public will take place after the opening ceremony, Tuesday, July 15th at 7:00 p.m.  The entry fee will be $10.00 per person with a 100% payout.  The Florida Dart Association will also be collecting canned goods and toiletries for the local food bank and shelters.

Currently there are seven partners supporting the event including Official Event Sponsor Cosmo Darts, Tampa Bay Sports Commission, Dart Universe, Dart Talk, The Dart Zone, and Massage by Brian.  For the first time in the event’s history, the opening and closing ceremonies and finals events will be live streamed to the public.  Dart Universe, a local Tampa organization, is donating their services to make this possible through their web site

For more information or to make a contribution, please contact the Florida Dart Association at 813-374-3105 or visit

About the Florida Dart Organization

Established in 1979, The Florida Dart Association is a state-wide organization with twenty-five member associations.  Its primary purpose is to promote steel-tips darts in the state of Florida by sanctioning local dart tournaments, awarding tournament points to rank members, conduct the annual State Team Championships and Supershoot Tournament and participate annually in the international Caribbean Cup Tournament.

About the Caribbean Darts Organization

Established in 1979, the Caribbean Dart Organization is a regional organization with sixteen member Caribbean countries.  The organization oversees one major bi-annual tournament, the Caribbean Cup, with the venue rotating around the member countries.